Kathak Dancer does a bit o Gangsta Blues

For our annual artwalk dedicated to dance, they asked me to show my range of dance flavors from Kathak to bollywood, both classic and contemporary, but in ONE costume. Okay!

I am still perfecting Maar Daala. I will post the whole thing when I perform it in June at the Fairfest, if it gets videotaped! I decided to dance to the audience clapping so I wouldn’t have to chop up a classical piece of music. I did Gangsta cuz it’s my fave right now. I actually learned the first few seconds of a Calvinography choreo but my video editor chose the part where i improvised ! Believe it or not, what i love about Hip Hop is what I love about classical Indian dance: isolations and fluidity. I think there is a marriage of the two forms brewing in my soul. That’s my goal for this year, to blend a bit of hip hop into Kathak. you’ll see! it will be refined and fresh, i hope!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bollywood Dance, Dance, Kathak Dance: the classical dance of North India

Leave a Reply

