Mudra Board #2: Hamsasya

mudra2 no reflection

Dedicated to Saraswati - the personification of the arts, knowledge, wisdom.

Dedicated to Saraswati – the personification of the arts, knowledge, wisdom.

Mudra 2 no reflection

Hamsasya mudra is used to depict a swan’s beak or picking a flower or many other things, but it is the swan relation that made me want to include this mudra. The swan is Saraswati’s vehicle as they call it, and it symbolizes Brahman or totality. Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, my guru, used to say that Shiva found Saraswati, by diving deep into pure silence. He found her on a white island. Before I start, I always invite Saraswati into partnership with me. Whatever energy or name we call upon, it’s to lovely to begin by remembering and opening to the full force of creativity at our innocent command. We can ask and then watch what happens.

You cannot see the images painted on the board around the edge very clearly but in person, you can see them but they are still vague the way I wanted them. There is a veena, a swan, lotus flowers and a peacock. It took a long time to get the glued pieces of white material just right. I discovered layering them allowed me to hide the glue and gave me the effect of a curtain. I look forward to the next “window” of time where I can start the Shiva board!

Leave a comment

Filed under ART, Wendy's Collage

Leave a Reply

